Top Chef Extravaganza!

As many of you know, I LOVE LOVE LOVE Top Chef. I can be a little obsessed about it. During the shows, I would exchange texts with Jen Baker and constantly check my twitter account for chef commentary. Yup….I’m a nerd!

So to celebrate the finale of Top Chef. I decided to make Tom Colicchio’s braised short ribs. This was a 2 day process, but it was definitely worth it.
I seasoned the short ribs in salt and peper

Then I pan fried them

I made the braising marinade

Meat and Marinade ready for the flavors to marry over night

The next evening, I combined the meat and marinade with some chicken stock and placed in the oven for 1.5 hours.

By the time the above step was complete it was 8 pm and I was starving, even though I had been munching on cheese and crackers. I needed something substantial.

To accompany these beautiful short ribs. I made some garlic cheddar mash potatoes. I have to say, mine are better than Shane’s. I think it’s all about the cheese. The cheese was so salty that I didn’t have to add extra salt to the mash. I always need to eat something green; so I went to my all time favorite, blanched asparagus. Who cares if it makes your pee smell funny. It’s really tasty.

This was one of the tastiest meals I have made, but there are some improvements that could have been made. I didn’t have the correct amount of protein stated in the recipe so I kind of used 2/3 of everything. However, I didn’t calculate 2/3 of the cooking time. These ribs should have been super soft. We also could have waited for the last 3 steps in the recipe

If you want to recreate this you can find the recipe below.
http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/braised-short-ribs

Let me know what if you guys try this recipe and tell me what you think.
HAPPY EATING 🙂

Leave a Reply

