Operation 52.5 – Twisted Root Burger Co.

After a crazy week at work, where the natives have lost it; girls night was a necessity. We decided to go to the Twisted Root Burger Co. in Deep Ellum. When I walked in, there was this funky ambiance, which I really enjoy. There was a lot of blue cheese on the menu, I’m not a fan. But if I am brave enough, the Blue cheese with tangy buffalo sauce burger sounded interesting. We sat at a high round table that was covered in bottle caps.

I had a hard time deciding what to get, but I eventually decided on the green chillies, guacamole, pepperjack cheese burger. Just a note, all burgers come medium well, so if you like it a little bloody you have to let them know. My burger was tasty and surprisingly moist and juicy. I had some issues on how to stack my burger. I’m a little neurotic about things…so I was couldn’t have my green lettuce touching my green guacamole. Another concern was the uneven distribution of guacamole. Smashing the burger together doesn’t cut it; I resorted to using my finger as a spreader. I was too impatient to walk over and find utensils. I was hungry….What’s new?!?!? You have to have fries with your burger. So I ordered the twisted fries; basically curly fries. I LOVE CURLY FRIES! I also ordered the the watermelon tea. It was tea that had a slight hint of watermelon. It wasn’t a flavor that was all in your face but rather subtle and a perfect summer treat.

One of the fun things about going to the Twisted Root is that they give you a card with a random name on it and when your order is ready, they will call it out. One of my favorites of the night was the following: “This has been my companion many a nights: Jack Daniels. Jack Daniels your order is ready.” For the night, I was Lois Lane. But my superman never showed up…BOOO!

My only complaint was that it was very difficult for me to hear what my table mates were. The music was playing rather loud and the constant calling out of food recipients made it very difficult to hear.

My plate

Food Prep

Leave a Reply

