Rice Expands

Expanding rice isn’t a new concept, but sometimes I just get so hungry that my judgement gets clouded. Today, I tried my first attempt to make chicken and rice soup (not the Filipino version: arroz caldo). I was trying out some new flavors and I wasn’t sure they went together. I knew that they worked with chicken individually but combined I wasn’t sure. So, I went to my all time favorite basic flavors: salt, pepper, onions, and garlic. I also added some celery, sage, tarragon and some paprika. It was really tasty, but I’m not sure I’m totally sold in the flavors. I guess that is what happens when you make recipes up as you open the pantry cabinet.

Now comes the rice. Yes, I know rice expands, it only takes one time for you to eat to much rice and feel the pain of the expansion in your stomach. I can probably guesstimate that I had about 6 cups of liquid in the pot, so I thought that 2 cups of rice would be sufficient and provide the perfect ratio or liquid to solid. Well, it was in the beginning. However when it was time to start cleaning up, there was more rice than anything else. So I guess I will have to be adding more chicken stock when its time to reheat. I usually have some homemade chicken stock in the freezer, but I believe I used it all. Hmm…oh well, store bought chicken stock it is. We’ll see how it all tastes tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

