Baking is not as easy as it looks…..

SInce it is a snow day, I’ve decided to be really productive today. One of the major reasons why is because I didn’t want to leave the house and didn’t want to be bothered about trying to get the car in and out of the driveway. But I digress.

I admit, I am not baker. Most of my baking comes out of a box. It has been years since I have tried to bake from scratch, without out the aid of my mom or sister. They are the true bakers in the family. For Christmas, Sandy got me some desert cookbook…aka baking cookbooks. I’ve been intrigued since Christmas but have been a little apprehensive to take the plunge.

Today was the day I started my baking adventure. I decided to make some heart shaped chocolate scone type baked good. I was at a total disadvantage already. It called for a heart shaped cookie cutter, but I didn’t have one. So my “engineer-like” brain, used my heart shaped muffin molds that I have. As a result, these bake goods look less like a heart and more like a blob of chocolate goodness.

While baking I learned a very important lesson. DO NOT put wax paper in the oven when you are baking…unless you want to live in putrid smelling house but at least you won’t smell the stinch if you burn your house down. Despite the shape, it’s really tasty. It’s not to sweet, so when it serving time, it will be served with whipped cream and jam.


Leave a Reply

